top of page

Can you prove your innocence?


Like many people I have been addicted to true crime stories recently. Anything from the podcast Serial, to Netflix shows Making a Murderer and Amanda Knox. One thing these series have in common, the one question everyone seems to be addicted to is; are they innocent? While I've been watching and listening to these stories, trying to piece together evidence, I was thinking. If this was me. If I were in some way, some how accused of a crime by a "witness" could I prove my innocence? I decided to find out.

As I am writing this I am going to try and see if I can piece together a timeline of a full day in the past. To stop me from choosing a day they I have a particular good memory of I am going to use a date generator, if you want to play along you can find the generator here.

I'm using a three month range for the generator to select the date from, the last three months. That seems like a reasonable time for a witness to come forward. The date that was generated is 16th February 2016.

Here are the rules. You can use any social media platforms to see/prove what you were doing at what time or to jog your memory. You can use calendars. You have to account for each hour of the day. You have to have an alibi or some reasonable form of proof that you were where you say you were e.g. I was at a shopping centre, the centre would have video surveillance of me. Okay, here we go.

First I'm going to check my phone calendar to see if I had anything scheduled for that day.


My calendar bought up nothing so I still have no idea what I would have been doing. Next I'm going to check various social medias to se if anything of interest happened on that day. This date happens to fall outside of the university semester so I definitely wouldn't have been on campus, bummer could have made things easier. I'm going to check Facebook first because thats where I think I'll have the most luck.


So I'm starting to think that I'm not going to have any idea what I was doing on the 16th. The closest result I had was the 14th a February, Valentines Day. Mat and I had gone to Tropfest, a film festival in Sydney. Next I'm going to check Instagram, my next most used social media.

Again the 14th of February is the closest I can get, same day, same event. I really don't think I'm going to be able to prove anything now! I have no recollection of the day (probably because it was pretty average). Let me know if you have tried to prove your innocence and succeeded or failed!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page