top of page

How to work 2 jobs!


You might be thinking of working two jobs for a number of reasons wether you need to make more money just to pay your rent or you are trying to save for something special! Working two jobs can be hard but I'm going to share some tips from my experience of holding down two jobs.

The reason I worked two jobs was not monetary but actually was the opportunity to decide which position I wanted more. My fiancé, Mat and I have recently moved to a new apartment in a new area which meant I needed to find a new job. I was sad to leave my old position but was excited for the future ahead. While we moved into our new place I started applying to for a whole bunch of different places to work. Two places that I really wanted to work at gave me the opportunity for an interview. I went to the first interview which was at what I would call a local tourist attraction. I went through the entire process and was offered a casual position which I accepted. (I'm currently only working casually because I'm still a university student) The next day I was offered a job at a cinema which was the second job I interviewed at. I strongly considered not taking the position as I already had one but I wasn't sure how many hours I would be working at each job or how many shifts I would get. As it turned out I got heaps of shifts at both and was extremely busy!

So my best tips for working two jobs are:

1. Know which job to put first.

You know that ld saying that you can't make everyone happy well it applies to employers as well. If you are trying to keep everyone happy you will tear yourself in two. You should pick one of your jobs to be number one. This is the job that you will be rostered for first and any spare days will go to your second job. This might seem unfair but if you are upfront to your employers about having a second job they should understand. Doing this also ensures that one job you are highly available for so you are unlikely to lose both jobs due to unavailability!

2. Schedule days off.

Working two casual jobs meant their are no scheduled days off like weekends for a full time job. You want to make sure you schedule a day off, the same day for both jobs at least once every 3 weeks so you can use that day to recharge!

3. Be prepared.

If you want to try and work two jobs you are going to have to be highly scheduled so you can keep track of everything you need to get done. This includes knowing when you are going to do a grocery shop, washing and cleaning.

I hope these tips help you work two jobs so you can reach all your goals. If you have any other tips please let me know! x


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page