top of page

University PTSD



I recently finished my University degree and when I say recently, I mean two weeks ago. Like most university or college students who find themselves free of the stresses of study, I turned to Netflix for entertainment and relaxation.

But then I found myself with that all to familiar feeling of procrastination guilt. You know the one I’m talking about where you’re trying to relax but you know you should be doing something more productive, most likely studying. Do you see the problem here?

I’m finished! There is no more studying to be done, there are no assignments or exams left in my predictable future, ever! So why am I still feeling guilty for relaxing and enjoying my new found freedom?

I’m calling it University PTSD. Some of the symptoms of PTSD listed by Better Health include:

- Feelings of anger, fear or guiltiness

- Being “wound up” and unable to sleep

- Loss of interest or pleasure in activities

Now the symptoms of PTSD in my particular case may not be as extreme as someone who has gone through a traumatic event or events but they appear all the same.

How many times has your study made you “wound up” and unable to sleep or concentrate. Or have you also experienced intrusive feelings of guilt for not being productive when you are trying to do something enjoyable? Has it made you feel like you can no longer enjoy what you’re doing?

Well my study has definitely made me feel that way and some of my friends from University have agreed they’ve felt the same way since finishing their degrees as well. Let me know if you’ve ever dealt with University PTSD and did anything ever help to alleviate it?


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page