top of page

My First Fitness Event!

To be honest I've been quite slack with my blogging. So many exciting life event have happened that I've neglected to share because, lets be honest, life just gets busy. In my coming posts you'll see how busy it's been; assignments, new apartment, wedding, graduation, new job...

But lets start with the most recent but of news.

Yesterday I competed in my first ever "fitness event". By my definition a fitness event is an event where the main goal is to determine how fit you are, not a sporting event, think CrossFit style.


So I've been a member of my local OrangeTheory Fitness for about two months when this event called the Dri-Tri came up. It's a fitness event consisting of a 2km row, 300 body weight reps and a 5km run. Most people didn't seem that interested in the event, it seemed that only the fittest of members were signing up. But I thought, if I want to have a time to beat on the next one I need to enter this one.


I wasn't nervous to enter I was only there to do my best. The first portion of the event, the row, I felt I kept a decent pace, having a much more consistent row then I normally would. I felt my biggest struggle was on the body weight reps. I tend to not know how to get a good breathing pattern going, or I focus so much I forget to breath completely! Eventually I made it through all the reps and headed for the treadmill. This was the best run I've probably ever done, ever. I never had to drop below my base pace and I even ran a lot of it at my push pace (if you do OT you know what these are).


All in all it was a great challenge of fitness and mental toughness and I can't wait to have a crack at it in another 6 months and smash my time.



Me holding my medal just after finishing the Dri-Tri.
Just after finishing the Dri-Tri

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page